What did I just do?

My last post was about not achieving a goal.

It wasn’t easy for me to write that post, because that goal had been important.

To be more specific…

My goal was to write 20.000 words in April for the NaNoCamp. A doable goal. Even better, that I had a significant number of words in the story I was working on (my back-up plan), in case life decided to be a huge b***h.

Which she did. But no prob! My back-up plan would come in handy.

April 30th arrived though and I hadn’t written for about a week. I was away for a 4-day vacation, without my laptop or my notes, and I was missing about 1700 words.

The number wasn’t a big one. But (besides trying for NaNo during November) my maximum word count in a day was about 1400, at my own pace and comfort, which also resulted in my brain being fried.

It was so not easy. But my writer friends insisted I should try. And I did. My friends were hunting those little monsters and I was next to them typing furiously on my phone.

I was taking small breaks, because I DIDN’T EVEN HAVE MY NOTES WITH ME! I didn’t know what was supposed to happen next. I was just trying to remember how I wanted to glue the scene I was finishing (thankfully that was in a file in my phone!), to the next one I could remember from my outline.

Several small sprints of my own, while hunting pokemons, waiting for commute, in the subway, waiting for food to arrive, I had the 1700+ words I was missing.

I even felt like I could keep going!

No no no, I didn’t because even if I knew what to write next, my brain was (once more) well and truly fried, since I am not used to writing more than 700-800 words per day.

But I had my word count. And I even managed to have it verified, with a bit of help.

At the end of the day, I was proud of me. I didn’t give up. I kept going. It didn’t matter that I used my back-up plan.

Because at the end of the April, I had 20.000 words in a story that I plan to be the first one to finish.

It’s one step closer to my next goal : Finish a story.

I’ll let you all know how this goes!

Leave a Reply

